The 2023 Palme d’Or winner has been revealed – IndieWire

The 76th Cannes Film Festival is finally coming to a close after a star-studded festival that saw everyone from Martin Scorsese to Harrison Ford walk the Croisette. This year’s line-up featured big names, with the likes of Wes Anderson, Todd Haynes, Jonathan Glazer, Wim Wenders and Hirokazu Kore-eda debuting new works in the competition. After all the major films were presented, the jury was tasked with awarding the festival’s most coveted awards.

The president of this year’s jury is Ruben Östlund – who has won two Golden Palms in the films “The Square” and “Triangle of Sadness”. He was joined by a panel of nine judges, including Paul Dano, Brie Larson and “Titane” director Julie Ducournau. Östlund recently spoke to IndieWire about his approach to the deliberation process and his determination to avoid leaks to the media.

“This will be the first jury in the history of the Cannes Film Festival, where the publicists will not have publicity for each other,” said Östlund. “If someone comes to us and asks what we think about a movie, we won’t (say).

"The Old Oak"

Natalie Dormer and Jennifer Lawrence in Lionsgate's "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 2

At the ceremony, many Cannes observers nominated Justine Triet’s “Anatomy of a Fall” and Jonathan Glazer’s “The Zone of Interest” for the top prizes. That consensus ended up being correct as “Anatomy of a Fall” won the Palme d’Or and “The Zone of Interest” won the Grand Prix. Triet became the third woman to win the Palme d’Or, following in the footsteps of Ducournau (“Titane”) and Jane Campion (“The Piano”). Koji Yakusho won best actor for his role in Wim Wenders’s “Perfect Days,” while “From Dry Grass” star Merve Dizdar won best actress.

This year’s ceremony was broadcast live to viewers around the world for the first time. Read on for an updated list of this year’s Cannes Film Festival award winners.

Golden Palm: “Anatomy of the Fall”, director. Justine Triet

Grand Prize: “The Zone of Interest”, director. Jonathan Glazer

The jury’s award: “Fallen Leaves”, director. Aki Kaurismäki

Best Actress: Merve Dizdar: “About the dry grass”

Best Actor: Koji Yakusho: “Perfect Days”

Best Director: Tran Anh Hung, “The Pot au Feu”

Best Screenplay: Yûji Sakamoto, “Monster”

Golden camera: “Inside the Yellow Cocoon Shell”, dir. Thien An Pham

Golden Palm short film: “27”, director. Flora Anna Buda

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *