List of winners of the 2023 NAACP Image Awards

Read the full list of winners.

The 54th NAACP Image Awards are held at the Pasadena Civic Auditorium. Queen Latifah hosts the proceedings, which honor the best black entertainment of the coming year. The Image Awards, which include awards, often give a hat tip to performers of color who aren’t black: Tenoch Huerta Mejía won best supporting actor for “Black Panther: Wakanda Forever.”

This film won another big award for Best Supporting Actress for Angela Bassett, who is currently far and away the Oscar frontrunner. It was one of Bassett’s two awards, as she also won Outstanding Actress in a Drama Series for her performance in “9-1-1.”

In addition to other major awards, Will Smith also won Best Actor for his role in Emancipation. And “P-Valley” won Outstanding Drama Series, alongside Nico Annan in the Outstanding Actor in a Drama Series category.

Entertainer of the year

Angela Bassett
Mary J. Blige
Quinta Brunson
Viola Davis

Excellent motion picture

“The Jazzman’s Blues”
“Black Panther: Wakanda Forever”
“The King of Women”

An excellent actor in a motion picture

Joshua Boone, “A Jazzman’s Blues”
Jonathan Majors, “Devotion”
Will Smith, “Emancipation” (WINNER)
Sterling K. Brown, “Honk for Jesus. save your soul”
Daniel Kaluuya, “No”

An excellent actress in a motion picture

Danielle Deadwyler, “Till”
Keke Palmer, “Alice”
Letitia Wright, “Black Panther: Wakanda Forever”
Regina Hall: “Shoot for Jesus. save your soul”
Viola Davis: The King of Women (WINNER)

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Movie

Aldis Hodge, “Black Adam”
Cliff “Method Man” Smith, “On the Come Up”
Jalyn Hall, “Till”
John Boyega: The King of Women
Tenoch Huerta Mejía, “Black Panther: Wakanda Forever” (WINNER)

Outstanding support An actress in a motion picture

Angela Bassett – “Black Panther: Wakanda Forever” (WINNER)
Danai Gurira – “Black Panther: Wakanda Forever”
Janelle Monae – Onions: The Mystery of the Knives
Lashana Lynch – “The King of Women”
Lupita Nyong’o – “Black Panther: Wakanda Forever”

An excellent independent motion picture

“Mr. Malcolm’s List”
“Remember Me: The Mahalia Jackson Story”
“The Check” (WINNER)

An excellent international motion picture

“Mama Bantu” (WINNER)
“Learn to Swim”
“The Silent Twins”

Outstanding, breakthrough performance in motion pictures

Jalyn Hall – “Till” (WINNER)
Joshua Boone – “A Jazzman’s Blues”
Ledisi – “Remember Me: The Mahalia Jackson Story”
Y’lan Noel – “Much Nothing”
Yola – “Elvis”

Excellent comedy series

“Abbott Elementary” (WINNER)
“Rap Sh!t”
“The Wonder Years”

Outstanding actor in a comedy series

Mike Epps – “The Upshaws”
Donald Glover – “Atlanta”
Anthony Anderson – “Black”
Cedric the Entertainer – “The Neighborhood” (WINNER)
Dule Hill – “The Wonder Years”

She is an excellent actress in a comedy series

Loretta Devine – “Family Reunion”
Maya Rudolph – “Loot”
Quinta Brunson – “Abbott Elementary” (WINNER)
Tichina Arnold – “The Neighborhood”
Tracee Ellis Ross – “Black”

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series

Kenan Thompson – “Saturday Night Live”
Brian Tyree Henry – “Atlanta”
Deon Cole – “Black”
Tyler James Williams – “Abbott Elementary” (WINNER)
William Stanford Davis – “Abbott Elementary”

Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series

Janelle James – “Abbott Elementary” (WINNER)
Sheryl Lee Ralph – “Abbott Elementary”
Jenifer Lewis – “Black”
Marsai Martin – “Black”
Wanda Sykes – The Upshaws

Excellent drama series

“Bel Air”
“P Valley” (WINNER)
“Queen Sugar”

Outstanding actor in a drama series

Damson Idris – “Snowfall”
Jabari Banks Glover – “Bel-Air”
Kofi Siriboe – “Queen Sugar”
Nicco Annan – “P Valley” (WINNER)
Sterling K. Brown – “This Is Us”

Outstanding actress in a drama series

Angela Bassett – “9-1-1” (WINNER)
Brandee Evans – “P-Valley”
Queen Latifah – “The Equalizer”
Rutina Wesley – “Queen Sugar”
Zendaya – “Euphoria”

Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Drama Series

Adrian Holmes – “Bel-Air”
Amin Joseph – “Snowfall”
Caleb Mclaughlin – “Stranger Things”
Cliff “Method Man” Smith – “Power Book II: Ghost” (WINNER)
J. Alphonse Nicholson – “P Valley”

Outstanding support She is an actress in a drama series

Adjoa Andoh – “Bridgerton”
Bianca Lawson – “Queen Sugar”
Loretta Devine – “P Valley” (WINNER)
Susan Kelechi Watson Martin – “This Is Us”
Tina Lifford – “Queen Sugar”

Outstanding Television Movie, Limited Series or Dramatic Special

“The Black Hamptons”
“From nothing”
“The Best Man: The Final Chapters” (WINNER)
“The Last of Ptolemy Grey”
“Women of the Movement”

Outstanding Actor in a Television Movie, Limited Series, or Dramatic Special

Morris Chestnut – “The Best Man: The Final Chapters” (WINNER)
Samuel L. Jackson – “The Last of Ptolemy Grey”
Terrence Howard – “The Best Man: The Final Chapters”
Trevante Rhodes – “Mike”
Wendell Pierce – “Don’t Put Me Down”

Outstanding Actress in a Television Movie, Limited Series, or Dramatic Special

Niecy Nash – Dahmer – Monster: The Story of Jeffrey Dahmer (WINNER)
Regina Hall – “The Best Man: The Final Chapters”
Sanaa Lathan – “The Best Man: The Final Chapters”
Viola Davis – “The First Lady”
Zoe Saldana – Out of Nowhere

Register: Stay up to date with the latest movie and TV news! Subscribe to our email newsletter here.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *