CDG award winners: “Elvis”, “Everything Everywhere” prize for costumes

“Glass Onion”, “House of the Dragon”, “Wednesday” and “The Crown” also took home awards.

The winners of the 25th Costume Designers Guild Awards were announced at a ceremony on February 27 at the Fairmont Century Plaza in Los Angeles.

All five Oscar nominees received CDGA Awards, “Babylon,” “Elvis” and “Mrs. Harris Goes to Paris” for Excellence in Period Film and “Black Panther: Wakanda Forever” and “Everything Everywhere All at Once” for Excellence in Sci-Fi / Fantasy Film with “Elvis” Costume Designer Catherine Martin and “Everything Everywhere” All at Once” costume designer Shirley Kurata won in their own category. Jenny Eagan and “The Onion” won in the Excellence in Contemporary Film category.

In the TV categories, “Sárkány háza”, “Szerda” and “The Crown” took home the main awards.

As previously announced, Bette Midler was honored with the Distinguished Co laboratore Award, while “Black Panther: Wakanda Forever” Oscar nominee Angela Bassett received the Spotlight Award. Additionally, Academy Award winner Deborah L. Scott received the Career Achievement Award and Emmy Award-nominated costume designer Rachael M. Stanley received the Distinguished Service Award.

See the winners in bold below.

An excellent sci-fi/fantasy film
“Avatar: The Path of Water” by Deborah L. Scott
“Black Panther: Wakanda Forever” by Ruth E. Carter
WINNER “Everything everywhere at once” – Shirley Kurata
“Hocus Pocus 2” by Salvador Perez
“Thor: Love and Thunder” by Mayes C. Rubeo

Excellence in Contemporary Film
WINNER “Garlic: The Mystery of Knives” – Jenny Eagan
“No” – Alex Bovaird
“Repository” – Bina Daigeler
“Top Gun: Maverick” – Marlene Stewart
“Women Speak” – Quita Alfred

Excellence in period film
“Babylon” by Mary Zophres
“Don’t Worry Darling” – Arianne Phillips
WINNER “Elvis” – Catherine Martin
“Ms. Harris Goes to Paris” – Jenny Beavan
“The King of Women” – Gersha Phillips

Excellence in Science Fiction / Fantasy Television
WINNER “House of the Dragon: The Heirs of the Dragon” – Jany Temime
“The Lord of the Rings: The Rings of Power: Shadows of the Past” by Kate Hawley
“Westworld: Generation Loss” by Debra Beebe
“What We Do in the Shadows: The Wedding” by Laura Montgomery
“The Witcher: Origins of Blood: Mages, Malice, and Horrible Mayhem” by Lucinda Wright

Excellence in Contemporary Television
“Emily in Paris: What it’s all about…” – Marylin Fitoussi
“Euphoria: Trying to get to heaven before they close the door” – Heidi Bivens
“Hacks: The Captain’s Wife” by Kathleen Felix-Hager
WINNER “Wednesday: Wednesday’s Child is Full of Woe” – Colleen Atwood and Mark Sutherland
“The White Lotus: In the Sandbox” by Alex Bovaird

Excellence in period television
“Bridgerton: The Choice” by Sophie Canale
WINNER “The Crown: House of Ipatiev” – Amy Roberts
“The Gold Age: Let the Championship Begin” – Kasia Walicka-Maimone
“The Wonderful Mrs. Maisel: Maisel Vs. Lennon: The Cut Contest” by Donna Zakowska
“Pam and Tommy: I Love You Tommy” – Kameron Lennox

Excellent variety, reality competition, live television
“Beauty and the Beast: 30th Celebration” by Marina Toybina
“Dancing with the Stars: Halloween Night” by Daniela Gschwendtner and Steven Norman Lee
WINNER “Lizzo’s Watch Out for the Big Grrrls: Girl Run That Sh*t Back” – Carrie Cramer and Jason Rembert
“RuPaul’s Secret Celebrity Drag Race: RuPaul-A-Palooza!” —Tony Iniguez
“Saturday Night Live: Miles Teller/Kendrick Lamar” by Tom Broecker, Ashley Dudek and Cristina Natividad

Excellence in brief design
Disney+ Has All Goats (Commercial) – Melissa DesRosiers
McDonald’s: Black Panther: Wakanda Forever (Commercial) by Sarah Kinsumba
Nike: Father Time (Commercial) – Shawna Trpcic (for Jason Momoa)
Not Today Influenza feat. Jason Alexander (Commercial) – Dawn Ritz
WINNER Yeah Yeah Yeahs: “Spitting Out the Edge of the World” (Music Video) – Natasha Newman-Thomas

Register: Stay up to date with the latest movie and TV news! Subscribe to our email newsletter here.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *