AMPAS boasts a new Board of Governors – IndieWire

The Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences has announced its newly elected Board of Governors. The governors, who determine the Academy’s strategic vision and pay attention to the organization’s financial situation, will take office at the first planned board meeting of the new cycle. On Wednesday, the panel voted to expand the theatrical release requirements to be eligible for Best Picture.

Ava DuVernay, a member of the board’s branch, is back on the 55-member Academy’s 2023-2024 Board of Governors. So is producer Lynette Howell Taylor. The incumbents remain, and those who have completed their three-year mandate move on, replaced by someone else (they can run for governor again after a two-year break). And after three terms, as Charles Bernstein and Jon Bloom served, they are fired for good.

The Academy’s 18 branches are each represented by three governors, except for the recently established Department of Production and Technology, which is represented by a single governor. As a result of the election, 53 percent of the board are currently women, and 25 percent belong to underrepresented racial or ethnic groups.

Jennifer Lawrence is "No hard feelings" presentation

"The perfect find"

Incumbent governors re-elected to the board:

Rob Bredow, Visual Effects Branch
Ava DuVernay, Director’s Dept
Linda Flowers, makeup and hairstylists business
Lynette Howell Taylor, Production Dept
Stephen Rivkin, Film Editing Department
Debra Zane, Casting Directors Branch

Elected to the board for the first time:

Wendy Aylsworth, Production and Technology
David I. Dinerstein, Marketing and Public Relations Branch
Richard Gibbs, Music Branch
Jinko Gotoh, Short Films and Game Animation Department
Kalina Ivanov, production planning department
Simon Kilmurry, Documentary Branch
Hannah Minghella, Executive Branch
Daniel Orlandi, costume design department
Lou Diamond Phillips, Actors Class
Dana Stevens, Writers Branch
Mark P. Stoeckinger, Sound Branch

Returning to the board after a short break:

Ellen Kuras, cinematographers department

They join Governors Pam Abdy, Bonnie Arnold, Lesley Barber, Dion Beebe, Howard Berger, Susanne Bier, Jason Blum, Gary C. Bourgeois, Brooke Breton, Paul Cameron, Ruth E. Carter, Eduardo Castro, Megan Colligan, Bill Corso. , Paul Debevec, Peter Devlin, Tom Duffield, Charles Fox, DeVon Franklin, Rodrigo García, Donna Gigliotti, Chris Hegedus, Richard Hicks, Laura C. Kim, Marlee Matlin, Missy Parker, Jason Reitman, Nancy Richardson, Howard A. Rodman, Eric Roth, Terilyn A. Shropshire, Kim Taylor-Coleman, Jennifer Todd, Jean Tsien, Marlon West, Rita Wilson, and Janet Yang.

Click to view the Academy’s current 2022-2023 Governors here.

Those who could run again (and won):
Cast – Debra Zane
Directors – Ava DuVernay
Film Editors – Stephen Rivkin
Makeup artists and hair stylists – Linda Flowers
Producers – Lynette Howell Taylor
Visual Effects – Rob Bredow

Cast – Whoopi Goldberg
Cinematographers – Mandy Walker
Costume Designers – Isis Mussenden
Documentary – Kate Amend
Executives – David Linde
Marketing and PR – Christina Kounelias
Music by Charles Bernstein
Production Design – Wynn Thomas
SFFA – Jon Bloom
Sound – Teri Dorman
Writers – Larry Karaszewski

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *