2023 Emmy for Best Supporting Actress in a Comedy Predictions

Last year, Sheryl Lee Ralph won the Emmy Award for Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series, the highlight of the evening. This year’s competition is tougher with two previous winners coming to an end.

Consider this

We’ll be updating this article with all of our predictions throughout the season, so be sure to check IndieWire for the latest news on the 2023 Emmys. The nomination round of voting runs from June 15 to June 26, with the official Emmy nominations announced on Wednesday, July 12. The Creative Arts Emmy Awards will be presented over two consecutive nights on Saturday, September 9 and Sunday, September 10. an edited presentation of the ceremonies that will air on FXX at a later date. Finally, the 75th Annual Primetime Emmy Awards will take place on Monday, September 18 and will air live on FOX at 8:00 PM ET/5:00 PM PT.

State of the species

If there was a breakout star on last year’s Emmy telecast, it was comedy series standout supporting actress Sheryl Lee Ralph (“Abbott Elementary”) who brought down the house with her a capella rendition of Dianne Reeves’ “Endangered Species.” then he gave a heart-wrenching acceptance speech.

Many prognosticators had Janelle James’ ABC sitcom co-star top the category’s 2021 winner, Hannah Waddingham (“Ted Lasso”), but that has since become routine at the winter TV awards. Ralph to take another trophy and charm the audience with his thought-provoking words. All three women are expected to return immediately to the Emmys this year, along with their co-stars Lisa Ann Walter (“Abbott Elementary”) and Juno Temple (“Ted Lasso”), as both shows enter the TV season with more eyes. on them.

In addition to this being “Ted Lasso’s” final Emmy season, “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel” will also end, meaning two-time winner Alex Borstein could win another Emmy in that category for her role as Susie Myerson on Amazon . Prime Video Comedy. His co-star Marin Hinkle is also up for another nomination for his work on the Amy Sherman-Palladino-helmed series.

As for newcomers, the star to watch is “The Bear” star Ayo Edebiri, who actually won at the Independent Spirit Awards in March, nominated against Ralph in a very competitive Best Supporting Actor in a New Scripted Series category, which was gender-neutral. and featured shows of various genres. The young actress also had a role in the Sundance hit “Theatre Camp” and stars in “Bottoms,” which just premiered at SXSW, making 2023 her year.

And finally, it was a banner season for Saturday Night Live star Ego Nwodim, who got a great showcase via the viral sketch “Lisa From Temecula”. With Kate McKinnon leaving NBC last season, there’s more room for the recently departed Cecily Strong and hard-working impressionist Chloe Fineman to represent the show in this category as well.

Current contestants (in alphabetical order):
Zazie Beetz, “Atlanta” (FX)
Alex Borstein, “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel” (Amazon Prime Video)
Liza Colón-Zayas, “The Bear” (FX)
Ayo Edebiri, “The Bear” (Hulu)
Chloe Fineman, “Saturday Night Live” (NBC)
Sarah Goldberg, “Barry” (HBO)
Marin Hinkle, “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel” (Amazon Prime Video)
Janelle James, “Abbott Elementary” (ABC)
Ego Nwodim, “Saturday Night Live” (NBC)
Sheryl Lee Ralph, “Abbott Elementary” (ABC)
Cecily Strong, “Saturday Night Live” (NBC)
Juno Temple, “Ted Lasso” (Apple TV+)
Hannah Waddingham, “Ted Lasso” (Apple TV+)
Lisa Ann Walter, “Abbott Elementary” (ABC)
Jessica Williams, “Shrinking” (Apple TV+)

More comedy category predictions:
Excellent comedy series
Outstanding Lead Actor in a Comedy Series
Outstanding Lead Actor in a Comedy Series
Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series

Click here for IndieWire’s full predictions for the 75th Emmy Awards.

Last year’s winner: Sheryl Lee Ralph, “Abbott Elementary”
Still eligible: Yes.
Hot Streaks: Last year was Sheryl Lee Ralph’s first Emmy for “Abbott Elementary,” so she doesn’t have a streak yet, but if she wins again, she’ll be the first black actress to win the category twice.
Notable Non-Eligible Series: Hannah Einbinder, “Hacks” (Season 3 ineligible)

Register: Stay up to date with the latest movie and TV news! Subscribe to our email newsletter here.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *