2023 Emmy Award for Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series

“Ted Lasso” star and two-time winner Brett Goldstein’s biggest competition for Outstanding Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series may be Harrison Ford for his performance on “Shrinking,” which Goldstein co-created.

Consider this

We’ll be updating this article with all of our predictions throughout the season, so be sure to check IndieWire for the latest news on the 2023 Emmys. The nomination round of voting runs from June 15 to June 26, with the official Emmy nominations announced on Wednesday, July 12. The Creative Arts Emmy Awards will be presented over two consecutive nights on Saturday, September 9 and Sunday, September 10. an edited presentation of the ceremonies that will air on FXX at a later date. Finally, the 75th Annual Primetime Emmy Awards will take place on Monday, September 18 and will air live on FOX at 8:00 PM ET/5:00 PM PT.

State of the species

The comedy series’ excellent supporting cast is where the predictions easily swing between now and the Emmy nominations, and that’s mostly because of Ted Lasso. The hit sports comedy on Apple TV+ completely took over this category in its debut season, earning half of the nominations. Then last year, the show received three nominations with a new line-up. The only returnees we’re likely to expect are Brett Goldstein, who was the eventual winner two years in a row, and Nick Mohammed, the only other character who’s been nominated twice and currently has an outstanding arc as the final season’s antagonist. .

However, with “Ted Lasso” absent from the last winter awards season, it made way for “Abbott Elementary” star Tyler James Williams to win a Golden Globe, and the show won even more. The ABC workplace sitcom already won three Emmys in its debut season and is on track to win more, giving Chris Perfetti and William Stanford Davis a better shot this time around.

“Barry” star Henry Winkler took home his second Critics Choice Award this year after not facing any “Ted Lasso” stars. The veteran TV actor won that Emmy category in 2018 for the jet-black HBO comedy’s first season, and is likely to get a boost for the series, which ends this year. The same goes for his teammates Anthony Carrigan and Stephen Root. Although the latter was not nominated last year, the trailers for the new “Barry” season suggest that he will play a bigger role in the final episodes of the series.

Two other prospective nominees awaiting their shows’ final seasons include “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel” star Tony Shaloub, who won the Emmy in 2019 for his portrayal of the irascible Abe Weissman on the Amazon Prime Video hit. , and “Atlanta” star Brian Tyree Henry, who was previously nominated once for the FX series and has recently been thrust into the spotlight as a 2023 Oscar contender.

“Saturday Night Live” stars Bowen Yang and Kenan Thompson are also safe bets for a nomination here, with the former in the past two years and the latter with five Emmy nominations, plus a successful night last year. . Support for Harvey Guillén (“What We Do in the Shadows”) and Ebon Moss-Bacharach (“The Bear”) have also been heard in the past year, neither of whom have ever been nominated for an Emmy, but of course the newcomer. “Shrinking” star Harrison Ford, who happens to be starring in a drama right now, and Paramount+’s “1923,” will be getting the most attention from the TV Academy. Funnily enough, the Apple TV+ series is a comedy co-created by Goldstein.

Current contestants (in alphabetical order):
Anthony Carrigan, “Barry” (HBO)
William Stanford Davis, “Abbott Elementary” (ABC)
Harrison Ford, “Shrinking” (Apple TV+)
Brett Goldstein, “Ted Lasso” (Apple TV+)
Harvey Guillén: What We Do in the Shadows (FX)
Brian Tyree Henry, “Atlanta” (FX)
Nick Mohammed, “Ted Lasso” (Apple TV+)
Ebon Moss-Bacharach, “The Bear” (Hulu)
Chris Perfetti, “Abbott Elementary” (ABC)
Stephen Root, “Barry” (HBO)
Tony Shaloub, “The Marvelous Mrs. Maisel” (Amazon Prime Video)
Kenan Thompson, “Saturday Night Live” (NBC)
Tyler James Williams, “Abbott Elementary” (ABC)
Henry Winkler, “Barry” (HBO)
Bowen Yang, “Saturday Night Live” (NBC)

More comedy category predictions:
Excellent comedy series
Outstanding Lead Actor in a Comedy Series
Outstanding Lead Actor in a Comedy Series
Outstanding Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series

Click here for IndieWire’s full predictions for the 75th Emmy Awards.

Last year’s winner: Brett Goldstein, “Ted Lasso”
Still eligible: Yes.
Hot Streaks: A third consecutive Emmy win for Goldstein would put him in the Emmy history books, alongside The Andy Griffith Show star Don Knotts and Entourage’s Jeremy Piven, as the only two actors to achieve the same feat playing a specific role. However, the ‘Ted Lasso’ star will have no chance of breaking ‘Night Court’ star John Larroquette’s record of four consecutive wins as the Apple TV+ comedy is reportedly set to end its third season this year.
Notable Non-Eligible Series: Carl Clemons-Hopkins and Paul W. Downs, “Hacks” (Season 3 ineligible)

Register: Stay up to date with the latest movie and TV news! Subscribe to our email newsletter here.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *